Belfast Street, Hove, East Sussex, BN3 3YT

01273 770082

St. Andrew's CofE (aided) Primary School

Inspiring a love of learning and enjoying life in all its fullness



What Do Governors Do?

Governors have a strategic role in guiding and supporting the school’s work and challenging further improvement. They work as a team to fulfil three key roles for the school:

  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction.
  • Holding the school leadership to account for the educational performance of the organisation and its pupils and the performance management of staff.
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure is money is well spent. 

There are immediate and lasting benefits to becoming a school governor. In volunteering your time, you are making a positive contribution to the success of the school and therefore having an impact on the lives of its pupils, staff and the local community. In addition, the role can help you to develop and evidence skills to support your own working life.

If you are interested in becoming a governor in the future, please contact the Senior Clerk to the Governors: Paul Roberts -


How Do Governors Work?

St. Andrew’s governors attend six School Governor meetings a year. You should expect to spend no more than ten days a year on duties, largely within school hours/early evenings and term time. There would be a slight increase in time commitment should you take on chairing responsibilities for one of the governing body's committees.

St. Andrew’s has three committees that meet frequently throughout the school year: 

  1. Teaching & Learning - Responsible for holding executive leaders to account to educational performance of the organisation and its pupils.
  2. Resources & Finance - Responsible for overseeing the financial performance of the school and ensuring its money is well spent.
  3. Human Resources - Responsible for ensuring the effective and efficient performance management of staff.

From time to time some Governors may sit on specific panels, including:

  1. Head Teacher appraisals
  2. Admissions - as a church school, the Governing Body is the Admissions Authority, which involves setting admissions arrangements for the school and agreeing admissions applications.



There are two Foundation Governor vacancies.    Please click HERE for details.


Our Governors

Our current governing body is set out in the table below:




Appointed By

Term of Office

Original Appointment Date


Fran Beckett OBE

Foundation Governor


21/03/2018 - 20/03/2022


Chair of Governors & Chair of HR 

Catherine Buchanan

Foundation Governor


01/09/2017 - 31/08/2021


Chair of Teaching and Learning Committee

Responsible for SEN and Pupil Premium

Matthew Greenall

Parent Governor


01/09/2017 - 31/08/2021


Chair of Resources and Finance Committee

Responsibility for Health and Safety

Sue Coleman

Local Authority Governor

Local Authority

04/07/2018 - 03/07/2022


Jill Fairbrother

Foundation Governor


03/04/2017 - 02/04/2025


Reverend Dan Henderson

Foundation Governor




Ex-Officio Governor

Ed Lawrence

Foundation Governor


21/01/2018 - 20/01/2022


Responsibility for Safeguarding

Sophie Thomas


Governing Body


Melissa Moore

Foundation Governor


06/03/2019 - 05/03/2023


Joel Tomlinson

Parent Governor


24/10/2019 - 23/10/2023


Dwight Heffelfinger

Co-opted Governor


28/01/2020 - 27/01/2024


Oliver Mudge

Associate Member

Governing Body

12/07/2016 - 11/07/2020




Minutes of Full Governing Body Meetings

Minutes of previous meetings can be found below. The Constitution of Governing Bodies in Maintained Schools (August 2015) requires governing bodies to publish individual governors' attendance at meetings in the last year. For ease of reference, we have provided this by giving details of and those who were not in attendance at each meeting:



Not in Attendance

11th May 2021

Lesley Hurst, Catherine Buchanan and Melissa Moore.

23rd March 2021

Jill Fairbrother

19th January 2021

None Noted

24th November 2020

Fran Beckett

6th October 2020

Sue Coleman

9th April 2020

Joel Tomlinson, Dan Henderson 

24th March 2020

None Noted

28th January 2020

Ed Lawrence, Fran Beckett, Lesley Hurst 

26th November 2019

Lesley Hurst, Ed Lawrence, Fran Beckett, Sarah Chambers

24th September 2019

Lesley Hurst, Melissa Moore

15th July 2019

Fr Dan Henderson, Nnamdi Udezue

15th May 2019

Catherine Buchanan, Sue Coleman, Fr Dan Henderson, Lesley Hurst, Ed Lawrence

20th March 2019

Fr Dan Henderson, Melissa Moore, Ed Lawrence

22nd January 2019

Fran Beckett

21st November 2018

Gordana Chapman, Fr Dan Henderson, Jill Fairborther, Ed Lawrence, Nnamdi Udezue

18th September 2018

Gordana Chapman, Sue Coleman, Abby French, Nnamdi Udezue

4th July 2018

Ed Lawrence

8th May 2018

Andrew Wealls, Fr Dan Henderson

12th March 2018

Nnamdi Udezue, Fr Dan Henderson, Jill Fairbrother

17th January 2018

Coreen Sears

14th November 2017

Gordana Chapman, Ed Lawrence, Nnamdi Udezue

25th September 2017  

Fr Dan Henderson, Lesley Hurst, Catherine Buchanan

5th July 2017

Katy Hiles

9th May 2017

Fr Dan Henderson, Katy Hiles, Lesley Hurst, Nnamdi Udezue

15th March 2017

Fr Dan Henderson, Julie Newnham, Nnamdi Udezue, Andrew Wealls

18th January 2017

Ed Lawrence, Julie Newnham

15th November 2016

Katy Hiles, Julie Newnham, Andrew Wealls

26th September 2016

Julie Newnham

13th July 2016

Louise Everington, Fr Dan Henderson, Oliver Mudge

10th May 2016

Fr Dan Henderson, Lesley Hurst, Nnamdi Udezue

15th March 2016

Gordana Chapman, Ed Lawrence, Matt Rance

20th January 2016

Fr Dan Henderson, Louise Everington, Richard Dutton, Katy Hiles

10th November 2015

Stjohn Rowlands

28th September 2015

Coreen Sears, Andrew Wealls, Matt Rance, Stjohn Rowlands

15th July 2015

Steve Griffiths, Stjohn Rowlands

12th May 2015

Richard Dutton, Julie Newnham, Stjohn Rowlands

16th March 2015

Fr Dan Henderson, Stjohn Rowlands

21st January 2015 

Stjohn Rowlands

11th November 2014

Ed Lawrence, Matt Rance, Stjohn Rowlands, Andrew Wealls

29th September 2014

Rachel Carter, Katy Hiles, Richard Dutton, Ed Lawrence, Stjohn Rowlands, Andrew Wealls

Extraordinary FGB meeting 15th September 2014

Stjohn Rowlands, Coreen Sears, Andrew Wealls



Register of Interests

  • Sue Coleman has declared that she is Senior Internal Auditor at Brighton and Hove Council.

  • Jill Fairbrother has declared that she does maths tutoring and some pupils attend St Andrews School.

  • Matthew Greenall has declared that he has a child at the school and his wife is a member of staff.

  • Rev Dan Henderson has declared that he has children at the school.

  • Melissa Moore has declared that she has children at the school.

  • Oliver Mudge has declared that he has children at the school.