What Do Governors Do?

Governors have a strategic role in guiding and supporting the school’s work and challenging further improvement, with the following key roles:

  • Ensuring that the school vision, ethos and strategy are clearly defined.
  • Ensuring that the Headteacher performs his/her responsibilities for the educational performance of the school.          
  • Ensuring the proper and effective use of the schools budget. 

There are three committees that meet once every half term:

  1. Teaching and Learning; Andrew Wealls (Chair), Suzanne Cairns, Coreen Sears, Nnamdi Udezue
  2. Ethos and Pupil Wellbeing; Gordana Chapman (Chair), Father Dan Henderson (Ex-officio),  Katy Hiles, Ed Lawrence, Julie Newnham
  3. Resources (Finance, Pay, Personnel, Premises); Louise Everington (Chair Finance), Christine Bartley, Lesley Hurst, Oliver Mudge

Some Governors also sit on Panels for:

Head Teacher Appraisal

Admissions. As a church school, the Governing Body is the Admissions Authority which involves setting admissions arrangements for the school and agreeing admissions applications.

There are also Governors with special responsibility including Safeguarding with Child Protection, Health and Safety, Pupil Performance (Data Analysis), Safer Recruitment and SEN with Equalities and Training.

There is a high priority for Governors and the Diocese to attend training sessions organised by Brighton & Hove Local Authority to ensure they are able to carry out their role effectively. 

There is an expectation for all governors to visit the school during the year to become familiar with school improvement priorities e.g. follow up staff presentations on curriculum development, equality, behaviour and learning. Governors also place a high priority on communicating with the school community and attend parent/teacher evenings and other school events, including the annual summer fair.

Key Documents


If you are interested in becoming a governor in the future or finding out more about what we do, please contact the clerk to governors by emailing:

Our Governors



Appointed by

Term of Office

Original appt date


Christine Bartley

Foundation Governor


06/02/2015 - 05/02/2019




Louise Everington

Foundation Governor


01/09/2013 - 31/08/2017


Vice Chair

Chair of Resources Committee

Trevor Cristin

Staff Governor

Member by virtue of their office




Reverend Dan Henderson

Foundation Governor




Exoficio governor

Suzanne Cairns

Staff Governor





Gordana Chapman 

Parent Governor


08/03/2016 - 07/03/2020


Chair of Ethos Committee

Jill Fairbrother

Foundation Governor


03/04/2017 - 04/04/2021



Katy Hiles

Parent Governor


24/10/2013 - 23/10/2017


Responsibility for Child Protection and Safeguarding

Lesley Hurst

Foundation Governor


06/05/2016 - 05/05/2020


Vice Chair

Ed Lawrence

Foundation Governor


21/01/2014 - 20/01/2018



Oliver Mudge

Foundation Governor


12/07/2016 - 11/07/2020



Julie Newnham

Co-opted Governor


12/05/2015 - 11/05/2019


Responsibility for Governor Training & Development

Coreen Sears

Foundation Governor


07/11/2016 - 06/11/2020



Nnamdi Udezue

Foundation Governor


06/05/2016 - 05/05/2020


Andrew Wealls

Local Authority Governor

Local Authority

04/03/2017 - 03/03/2021


Responsibility for pupil attainment (data analysis)

Chair of Teaching and Learning Committee








The successful candidate in the recent Parent Governor election was Matthew Greenall, who will take up the position from September 2017.

Thank you to all those who applied.


Associate Members

Name Role Appointed by Term of Office Original appt. date Role
Julien Rutler Associate Member Governing Body  10/05/2017 -  09/05/2018 10/05/2016 (Linked to the Resources Committee)
Jason Tingley Associate Member Governing Body 22/01/2017 -    1/01/2018 25/09/2008 (Linked to the Ethos and Pupil Well Being Committee)
Colleen White Associate Member Governing Body 17/05/2017 -   16/05/2018 17/05/2016 (Linked to the Ethos and Pupil Well Being Committee)


In the past 12 months we have also had the following members on our governing body:



Term of office

Appointed by

Appointment end date

Original appt date

Matthew Rance

Associate Member

17/05/2016 - 16/05/2017

Governing Body



Rachel Carter

Associate Member


Governing Body





The Full Governing Body meets at least once every half term and sometimes extra meetings are necessary. These meetings are where we discuss school direction, planning and strategy. Full Governing Body meetings for the 2016/1)7 academic year will be held at 7pm on the following dates:

  • Monday 26th September 2016
  • Tuesday 15th November 2016
  • Wednesday 18th January 2017
  • Monday 13th March 2017
  • Tuesday 9th May 2017
  • Wednesday 5th July 2017

Minutes of previous meetings can be found below. The Constitution of Governing Bodies in Maintained Schools (August 2015) requires governing bodies to publish individual governors' attendance at meetings in the last year. For ease of reference we have provided this by giving details of and those who were not in attendance at each meeting:


 Not in attendance

9th May 2017

(to be uploaded shortly)

Fr Dan Henderson,Katy Hiles, Lesley Hurst, Nnamdi Udezue

15th March 2017

Fr Dan Henderson, Julie Newnham, Nnamdi Udezue, Andrew Wealls 

18th January 2017

Ed Lawrence, Julie Newnham

15th November 2016

Katy Hiles, Julie Newnham, Andrew Wealls

26th September 2016

Julie Newnham

13th July 2016

Louise Everington, Fr Dan Henderson, Oliver Mudge

10th May 2016

Fr Dan Henderson, Lesley Hurst, Nnamdi Udezue 

15th March 2016

Gordana Chapman, Ed Lawrence, Matt Rance

20th January 2016

Fr Dan Henderson, Louise Everington, Richard Dutton, Katy Hiles

10th November 2015

Stjohn Rowlands

28th September 2015

Coreen Sears, Andrew Wealls, Matt Rance, Stjohn Rowlands

15th July 2015

Steve Griffiths, Stjohn Rowlands

12th May 2015

Richard Dutton, Julie Newnham, Stjohn Rowlands

16th March 2015

Fr Dan Henderson, Stjohn Rowlands

21st January 2015 

Stjohn Rowlands

11th November 2014

Ed Lawrence, Matt Rance, Stjohn Rowlands, Andrew Wealls

29th September 2014

Rachel Carter, Katy Hiles, Richard Dutton, Ed Lawrence, Stjohn Rowlands, Andrew Wealls

Extraordinary FGB meeting 15th September 2014

Stjohn Rowlands, Coreen Sears, Andrew Wealls

If you would like to see copies of meeting minutes prior to the above, please contact the clerk by emailing:

Register of interests

None declared.